Swimmers from GAF Mumbai, SGTIDM Delhi and GAFRAY Bangalore win 30 Medals at Bangkok

Swimmers from GAF Mumbai, SGTIDM Delhi and GAFRAY Bangalore win 30 Medals at Bangkok



Swimmers from the Glenmark Aquatic Foundation Mumbai, SAI Glenmark TIDM Delhi and GAFRAY Bangalore claimed 30 medals comprising of 11 Gold, 13 Silver and 5 Bronze medals at the Thailand Age Group Swimming Championships which concluded on 10th April 2019 at Bangkok.

The Event proved historical for SGTIDM swimmer Kushagra Rawat as he clocked a B cut in the 800 m Freestyle for both the Tokyo Olympics and the FINA World Championships to be held in Gwangju, South Korea in July 2019. Kushagra also made the B cut in the 400 m Freestyle for the World Championships. He won 3 Gold medals in the meet and recorded the best ever time for an Indian swimmer in the 800m Freestyle clocking a time of 08:07.99

Swadesh Mondal won the 200 IM giving his personal best and clocking a time better than the National record for Group I stopping the clock at 02.09.21. Swadesh also excelled in his breaststroke events winning 3 golds in the 200 IM, 200 m Breaststroke and 50 m Breaststroke.

Kiara Bangera from GAF Mumbai had a rich haul of 5 medals making it a very successful event for this talented swimmer. Kiara won 4 silvers in the 200 m Butterfly, 200 m Freestyle, 1500 m Freestyle and 400 m Freestyle. She won the bronze in the 800 m Freestyle. It was the first outing for Kiara for distance events like the 800 and 1500 m Freestyle.

Other medal winners included Bikram Changmai with 2 Golds, Ansu Kar with 1 silver and 2 Bronze, Aryan Vijay Varnekar, Maana Patel and Veer Khatkar with 1 Gold and 1 Silver each, Anurag R Singh and Gyan Sandhan Kashyap with 2 Silver each.

Saif Chandan Ali from GAFRAY Bangalore won a Silver medal in Boys Group I category in 200 m Butterfly and became the first swimmer from the Bangalore Centre to win a medal at an International meet.

It was a wonderful learning experience for all swimmers.

The team is led by Technical Director Carles Subirana and head coaches Partha Pratim Majumder, Peter Carswell and Bushan Kumar. Coach Parampal from SGTIDM was also a part of the team in Bangkok.

List of Medal Winners

Swimmer NameGroupEventTimeMedal
1Kushagra RawatOpen1500 m Freestyle15.56.60Gold
2Veer KhatkarII100 m Freestyle00.53.49Gold
3Aryan Vijay VarnekarII50 m Butterfly00.25.59Gold
4Maana PatelOpen100 m Backstroke01.05.46Gold
5Bikram ChangmaiII100 m Butterfly00.57.21Gold
6Swadesh MondalII200 m Breaststroke02.22.99Gold
7Kushagra RawatOpen400 m Freestyle03.56.10Gold
8Swadesh MondalII200 m Individual Medley02.09.81Gold
9Kushagra RawatOpen800 m Freestyle08.07.99Gold
10Bikram ChangmaiII200 m Butterfly02.09.98Gold
11Swadesh MondalII50 Breastsroke00.31.27Gold
12Aryan Vijay VarnekarII100 m Butterfly00.57.29Silver
13Gyan Sandhan KashyapII100 m Freestyle00.54.40Silver
14Kiara BangeraIII200 m Butterfly02.31.65Silver
15Kiara BangeraIII200 m Freestyle02.12.82Silver
16Ansu KarIII800 m Freestyle09.27.96Silver
17Anurag R. SinghI800 m Freestyle08.34.72Silver
18Kiara BangeraIII1500 m Freestyle18.59.11Silver
19Prachi TokasI1500 m Freestyle18.26.33Silver
20Maana PatelOpen200 m Backstroke02.26.37Silver
21Gyan Sandhan KashyapII200 m Freestyle02.00.16Silver
22Saif Chandan K SI200 m Butterfly02.08.85Silver
23Anurag R. SinghI1500 Freestyle16.27.23Silver
24Kiara BangeraIII400 Freestyle04.39.25Silver
25Kiara BangeraIII800 m Freestyle09.41.49Bronze
26Shivangi SarmaI400 m Individual Medley05.35.02Bronze
27Ansu KarIII400 m Freestyle04.31.26Bronze
28Gyan Sandhan KashyapII800 m Freestyle08.53.12Bronze
29Ansu KarIII200 m Freestyle02.08.87Bronze
30Shivangi SarmaI400 m Freestyle04.38.10Bronze